Sorry! De informatie die je zoekt, is enkel beschikbaar in het Engels.
This programme is saved into My study choice.
This programme cannot be saved.
You are not logged in yet to My study choice Portal. Login or create an account to save your programmes.
Something went wrong, try again later.

Catarina Dutilh Novaes member of KNAW and winner of Lakatos Award

10 June 2022
The Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW) has elected 22 new members, including Professor of Reasoning and Argumentation, and their history Catarina Dutilh Novaes. Besides that, she won the 2022 Lakatos Award.

Catarina Dutilh Novaes: "Being a member of the KNAW is a great honor but also a great responsibility. Scholars and scientists should contribute to a better world not only by producing and spreading knowledge, but also by intervening in societal issues when appropriate. I aim for my philosophical work to have real impact in society, and being a member of KNAW is likely to increase its impact and reach."

Catarina Dutilh Novaes’ main areas of work are argumentation and cognition & reasoning. In these fields, she has published an extensive oeuvre that excels in originality, insight, elegance and the ingenuity with which she connects different domains and interweaves historical, conceptual, cognitive and empirical themes. Her research on argumentation contributes to the social debate on topics such as vaccination, gender and race. Dutilh Novaes is not only innovative in her research. As the programme director of the humanities research master's at VU Amsterdam, she has also reformed education, in particular by creating more space for interdisciplinary approaches to humanities research. As a result, this programme is a driver for innovation in education at VU Amsterdam.

Membership for life

Members of the KNAW are chosen on the basis of their scientific achievements. The KNAW has about six hundred members. A membership is for life. The new Academy members will be installed on Monday 12 September 2022. Among the members are numerous prominent VU professors such as Danielle Posthuma, Jaap Seidell and Yvette van Kooyk. An overview of all VU professors who are members of the KNAW can be found here.

Lakatos Award

Catarina Dutilh Novaes is the winner of the 2022 Lakatos Award. The Lakatos Award, named after the philosopher Imre Lakatos, is given in recognition of a monograph in the philosophy of science, published in English. The award is endowed by the Latsis Foundation and is administered by an international committee organized by the London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE). Catarina Dutilh Novaes won the prize for her book, The Dialogical Roots of Deduction (Cambridge University Press, 2020). The prize includes £10,000 and the delivery of a lecture  at LSE.