Sorry! De informatie die je zoekt, is enkel beschikbaar in het Engels.
This programme is saved in My Study Choice.
Something went wrong with processing the request.
Something went wrong with processing the request.

Councillors of the University Student Council (USR)

The University Student Council (USR) consists of three committees: Education & Research, Organisation & Finance and Communication.

Every council member is active within multiple portfolios and each portfolio is part of a committee. As a coordinator you can only be active in one committee at a time. Other members are active in a maximum of two committees at the same time.

Councillors per committee

  • Committee Education & Research
    Vincent Mesrine, Alexis Bhakor, Abigail Lume Stead, Suvarn Nagan, Roy Turksma, Marlon Uljee, Guido Groenescheij
  • Committee Organisation & Finance
    Hidde Smid, Alexis Bhakor, Sarah Kasd-Alla, Roy Turksma, Guido Groenescheij, Sarah Westheim
  • Committee Communication
    Sofia Rabbanizadah, Sarah Kasd-Alla, Abigail Lume Stead, Suvarn Nagan, Marlon Uljee, Sarah Westheim

Elections are held annually for the members of the University Student Council (USR) and the Faculty Student Councils (FSR). As a VU Amsterdam student you can vote for the candidates of your choice.

University Student Council (USR)

Meet the councillors

Guido Groenescheij (Chair)

Portfolios: Joint Assembly, Teacher Talent Award, Strategic Plan

Sarah Westheim (Vice Chair)

Portfolios: Transfer, Constitution, Evaluation

Vincent Mesrine (Coordinator Education and Research)

Portfolios: GV Education and Research, Quality of Education, Student Oriented Support, Self Development, Contact Person Education and Research

Hidde Smid (Coordinator Organisation and Finance)

Portfolios: GV Financial and Economic Affairs (FEZ), IT, GV Legal Affairs (JZ), Campus Development, Contact Person Organisation and Finance

Sofia Rabbanizadah (Coordinator Communication)

Portfolios: Internal Relations, Public Relations, Culture and Diversity, External Platforms, Recruitment & Elections, Contact Person Communication

Roy Turksma (General Councillor and Treasurer)

Portfolios: GV O&O, Quality of Education, Self Development, TOP, IT, GV JZ

Alexis Bhakor (General Councillor)

Portfolios: GV O&O; Quality of Education; GV Financial and Economic Affairs (FEZ); Training, Development and Professionalization (TOP); Campus Development

Sarah Kasd-Alla (General Councillor)

Portfolios: GV Financial and Economic Affairs (FEZ), GV Legal Matters (JZ), Campus Development, Internal Relations, Public Relations

Abigail Lume Stead (General Councillor)

Portfolios: Quality of Education, Student Oriented Support, Internal Relations, Public Relations, Recruitment and Elections

Suvarn Nagan (General Councillor)

Portfolios: Self Development, Student Oriented Support, Selection & Accessibility, Culture & Diversity, External Platforms, Recruitment & Elections

Marlon Uljee (General Councillor)

Portfolios: GV O&O, Self Development, Public Relations, Culture & Diversity, Recruitment & Elections

Do you want to know more about the University Student Council?

Please feel free to contact us.

University Student Council (USR)

Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, Main Building
StudentenD0k, room 0D-12
De Boelelaan 1105
1081HV Amsterdam

Follow us on Social Media


  • Jeannetta van Baarsen
  • Administrative Secretary