Sorry! De informatie die je zoekt, is enkel beschikbaar in het Engels.
This programme is saved into My study choice.
This programme cannot be saved.
You are not logged in yet to My study choice Portal. Login or create an account to save your programmes.
Something went wrong, try again later.

Steering Committee

ASI is managed by a Scientific Steering Committee, including research leaders from all participating VU faculties. This Committee is supported by a team for daily management.

Get to know the faces behind the Amsterdam Sustainability Institute. Together we build bridges among VU researchers and with the wider stakeholder community to increase our scientific and societal impact. Our motto is: “Integrating knowledge for sustainable societal choices”. 

ASI Scientific Steering Committee

These are the members of ASI's scientific steering committee

Prof. Philipp Pattberg

Director Amsterdam Sustainability Institute, Head department of Environmental Policy Analysis Professor Transnational Environmental Governance and Policy

Photo Philipp Pattberg of ASI

Neele van den Bongardt

Coordinator ASI

Prof. Jeroen Aerts

Head of department Water and Climate Risk, Professor Water and Climate Risk

Portrait of Jeroen Aerts

Prof. Gijsbert van den Brink

Head of Department Beliefs & Practices, Professor Theology & Science

Prof. Petra van Dam

Professor History of Water and Environmental History

Petra van Dam

Prof. Henri de Groot

Professor of Regional Economic Dynamics

Dr. Henk van den Heuvel

Director Centre for International Cooperation (CIS)

Henk van den Heuvel - Staff member at CIS-VU

Prof. Patricia Lago

Lead the Software and Sustainability (S2) section , Professor of Software Engineering

Prof. Paul van Lange

Chair of the Section of Social Psychology , Professor Psychology

Paul van Lange

Prof. Pim Leonards

Professor Environmental Bioanalytical Chemistry

Pim Leonards

Dr. Heather Leslie

Senior Researcher Environment and Health

Dr. Barbara Regeer

Associate professor transdisciplinary strategies for sustainable development and system transformation

Dr. Barbara Regeer

Prof. Lodewijk Smeehuijzen

Professor Corporate Law

Dr. Denyse Snelder

Senior specialist Sustainable Land Management

Denyse Snelder - Staff member at CIS-VU

Prof. Marjo de Theije

Professor Anthropology of Resources

Prof. Guido van der Werf

Cluster Head Earth and Climate, Professor Carbon-Climate Sciences

Guido van der Werf

Prof. Lia van Wesenbeeck

Director of the Amsterdam Centre for World Food Studies

Lia van Wesenbeeck

Prof. Jacob de Boer

Professor Environmental Chemistry and Toxicology

Jacob de Boer

Would you like to know more?

Get in touch with our ASI coordinator Neele van den Bongardt

Follow us on