Sorry! De informatie die je zoekt, is enkel beschikbaar in het Engels.
This programme is saved in My Study Choice.
Something went wrong with processing the request.
Something went wrong with processing the request.

Theoretical philosophy

The Theoretical philosophy research group works in the following areas: epistemology, argumentation, metaphysics and philosophy of science.

Currently we are working on the following externally funded research projects:


Including projectleader

  • The Epistemic Responsibilities of the University (TWCF)
    • Prof. René van Woudenberg
  • Epistemic Progress in the University (TWCF)
    • Prof. René van Woudenberg, prof. Jeroen de Ridder, dr. Rik Peels
  • Epistemology and Democracy (NWO Vidi)
    • Prof. Jeroen de Ridder
  • Extreme Beliefs (ERC-SG)
    • Prof. Catarina Dutilh Novaes
  • Neurophilosophy (NWO promotions in Humanities)
    • Linda Holland MA, Msc
  • Free Will and Responsibility for Believing (NWO, teacher promotion grant)
    • Valentin Arts, MA
  • Epistemic Conservatism (Min of Economic Affairs)
    • Geertjan Holtrop MA
  • The Information Integration Theory of Consciousness, a scientific solution to the Hard Problem of Consciousness? (NWO promotions in Humanities)
    • Ruben Verhagen MA
  • Epistemology and Deliberation in Public Organizations (NWO, teacher promotion grant)
    • Egbert de Jong MA

Academic staff members

The following staff are members of the Theoretical Philosophy research group:

As well as the following PhD candidates: