Visa/residence permit

Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam will apply for a visa and/or residence permit on your behalf after you have been (conditionally) admitted, and when you have confirmed your participation in the Exchange programme.

The deadlines for completing your visa application are 1 June (1st semester) and 1 December (2nd semester).

Before we can start the visa and/or residence permit procedure, we need to have received the visa fee (€350).


Do I need a visa/residence permit?

There are two types of immigration procedures:

    •    Residence permit (VVR) only;
    •    Entry visa (MVV) and residence permit (VVR).

Which procedure applies to you, depends on your nationality. Please check your nationality and the accompanying procedure below:

Country of originVisa/residence permit needed?
  • EU countries
  • Iceland
  • Liechtenstein
  • Norway
  • Switzerland
No visa or residence permit required
  • Australia
  • Canada
  • Japan
  • New Zealand
  • South Korea
  • United States of America
  • Vatican City State
Visa (MVV) not required, residence permit (VVR) required
  • Australia
  • Canada
  • New Zealand
  • South Korea
Working Holiday Permit (WHP)/Working Holiday Scheme (WHS)
  • All other countries
Visa (MVV) and residence permit (VVR) required