Organization

Chief Diversity Officer

Prof. Dr. Karen van Oudenhoven-van der Zee, dean of the Faculty of Social Sciences is the Chief Diversity Officer (CDO) of the VU. As CDO she is responsible for the strategic goals in the area of diversity and inclusion. She works on the elaboration of the university's vision on diversity, and the translation of this vision into activities.

Coordinator Diversity

Wim Haan (1958) was appointed as Coordinator Diversity and secretary of the steering group diversity in 2006. He was one of the initiators of the Summercourse for first generation students, that was organized by the VU from 2011. Furthermore he initiated and was responsible for the study trip to Israel and the Palestinian territories for five years. At this moment Wim supports the Chief Diversity Officer with the development and execution of the diversity policy in close collaboration with staff members from the faculties and departments. Among other things, he is contact person for students that have questions relating to diversity, he leads the diversity student platform Dialoog@vu.nl, he is project leader of the Community Service Learning project, he is a member of the integral security committee at the VU (with the areas of social security and radicalization), and he is involved with the prayer room of the university. Finally he plays an active role in the research collaboration with UCLA.

Meer informatie

Karen van Oudenhoven-van der Zee (Chief Diversity Officer): k.i.van.Oudenhoven-vander.Zee@vu.nl
Wim Haan (Coordinator Diversiteit): Wim.Haan@vu.nl

Other staff members and student assistants:

Tasniem Anwar (labor market transition, empowerment events) t.anwar@vu.nl
Britt Bakker (community service) b.b.bakker@vu.nl
Berna Keskindemir (UCLA exchange) b.keskindemir@vu.nl
Youssra Lotfi (Taskforce Diversity, website) y.lotfi@vu.nl
Hugo Ruiter (website, X-team support, projects, organization, UCLA Exchange) h.ruiter@vu.nl
Meryam Zamri (labor market transition) m.zamri@vu.nl